Two.

It is the fall equinox already, harvest time here on this side of the equator.  Bit by bit we bring in what we’ve grown or what we’ve learned and we start testing, start making work.

After I went over and over the thoughts of ‘Healing in cloth’ (See post)  it was time to get more understanding by watching my hands work and seeing and understanding without words.For the first time in ages I took out soft, soft wool and I thanked the sheep and went to work and made blankets for babies due and used the knowledge handed to me a long time ago by a Russian teacher and used no soap whilst felting this precious work, though it makes work hard.

And then I gathered my herbs, soft ones, sacred ones and protecting ones and I folded them into the felted cloth and asked them to do their work and left them to it.

And now it is done, the blankets are rolled up the way I roll up any blanket I make and they are packed now and I am silenced by this process of looking and smelling and asking myself, is this it.. is it good, is it enough.

It is exactly the way I’ve always worked, it’s my hands, my mind, my hunger for imperfection but at the same time it is really not, it is small and delicate for one. =) But my hands know. And in my mind I bless those babies.

I smile knowing the colours of the blankets will fade in time and the smell of the herbs will be replaced by the smell of a little human, but I also know the wool has a perfect memory and the herbs will be imprinted forever. Deep magic.

Caring in cloth

2 thoughts on “Two.

  1. Pingback: I see you. | 100 and two

  2. It is more than ‘good enough’. It is perfect….in every way. And, I like you, love the imperfections of handmade felt….that it is not made by a machine devoid of feeling….but through a combination of hard work and tenderness. Yes indeed, deep magic.

Leave a Reply

