I am a story teller in an image. My work is a translation of the things I think.’

Those who follow me on instagram will know I’ve been studying and roaming Northern lands and then southern lands and finally arrived home where I found that German magazine on the doormat with that piece they asked me to write.

The photos looked amazing and the translation to German worked and things were great, they only took out that part of the piece which was important to me as during my time off from work my view on my work shifted.. or rather is shifting in not a minor way.  So, for those interested in those thoughts about my working future, here goes, and if anyone is interested in the whole bit and not just about me doubting where I am heading, just let me know. ;)

‘I also did a lot of cooking what I always seem to do when I let life slow down a bit. this cooking, being interested in food steered me quite naturally to a deeper serious concern about food, animal welfare and different global issues. We have a mainly plant based diet in our home and the concerns made me rethink materials in my work and the way I work. Something I have not completely figured out, the sourcing and which materials I want or can use and how this will change my practise. It is such a sensitive subject these or any materials you are used to work with. But that said, making work, art, like life is an on-going learning process innit? Things change and I’ve always felt the need to find new ways and answers anyway.’

ps, on our travels we camped out on a small island with sheep and one of those sheep kinda took a liking to us strangers and she came up to us a couple of times to smell or breath and we hers.. did you ever smell a sheeps’ breath? and doesn’t it smell of flowers?

Where ever you are, have a truly lovely day!

hat sculptures

3 thoughts on “I am a story teller in an image. My work is a translation of the things I think.’

  1. Wat jammer dat ze nou net dát stuk er uit lieten… nogal een vitaal gedeelte, lijkt me. Ik zou het hele stuk graag willen lezen!

    • Dank voor je berichtje Greetje, Ja, vitaal voor mij in elk geval. al is het voor lezers gelijk ook wellicht geen reclame, jezelf lastige vragen stellen en nog geen antwoord kunnen formuleren. =) Het hele stuk gaat over mijn werk geschiedenis, als je het wil lezen kan ik het opsturen naar het email adres wat bij je post staat?

Leave a Reply

