Once upon a time / on my way again.


Elis Vermeulen

When I was a little girl with a pony tail (this is the once upon a time bit.) I felt, deeply, that I was not yet able to understand lots of grown up reasons.. or math.=)

The way I thought, understood things, was limited…( I still do not understand lots of ‘grown up’ reasonings but that is beside the point.) I knew there was more out there, outside of my brain, things I could not reach or understand yet and I hungered for it. Since then I long to break barriers, see more, understand more, accept more and believe that amazing and weird things are possible, that there are things, reasons, life and beauty outside of what I, or you, might think is possible.

Slaying the Jabberwocky is part of life. At some point you just have to ánd have to believe in impossible things.

These last months or a bit longer I knew I needed to reconsider my art practice. The decision to take steps forward includes giving up my studio, I do love that space but I know I need to broaden my horizon, explore, travel, breathe, learn, dream, lean forward, work and step outside of that comfy work-zone.

I will be clearing out my workspace these coming weeks, make give away/scrap/keep piles and move my stuff so things will be different and perhaps a bit silent here sometimes, but if you like, you can drop me a line and let me know how you are doing. =)

I have a couple of ‘Series’ left and after that?.. who knows… =) Grin.

x

Elis Vermeulen

Leave a Reply

